The Humility of the Guru ~ Daya Mataji

rajarsi-master-daya-ma

I have never sought place. I have certainly not sought position.  I am grateful if in some way [Divine Mother] has used this form and this mind and this heart to serve.  And I am even more grateful that she has drawn me to the feet of one who so inspired my life, who so uplifted my consciousness by his sublime example, that it was very easy to give my heart wholly to God.  He kept the thoughts of all of us who were around him not fixed upon his own personality, but upon God Alone…

I have something here that was given to me many years ago.  It still is on my desk. And this has been one of the ideals, I’ve repeated it to you many times. It isn’t from Master’s writings, but it expresses Master’s nature…And I have found very few who really represent what this says, except Guruji.

canonttcarterhumililty_fotor

“Humility is perpetual quietness of heart.”  I repeat that so many times throughout the year.

“It is to have no trouble.  It is never to be fretted, or vexed, or irritated, or sore, or disappointed.”  That’s what humility is.

“It is to expect nothing, to wonder at nothing that is done to me, to feel nothing done against me.  It is to be at rest when nobody praises me, and when I am blamed and despised. It is to have a blessed home in myself, where I can go in and shut the door, and kneel to my Father in secret, and be at peace as in a deep sea of calmness, when all around and above is troubled.”  That is humility.

And I used to marvel at Master, when I would see the endless problems that he faced in the beginning of this work, and the TRUE expression of humility which was manifest in his life at all times.

Humility isn’t weakness.   Humility is really to be at peace within.  I often think of that.  How is it, Divine Mother, that though outside there are so many responsibilities that I have to meet, so many different kinds of personalities to deal with, how is it that the moment I take my mind away from this world, just look within, I am at peace.  I am enjoying something that nothing in this world could give.  I am enjoying that quiet inward conversation with you my God.  Conversation with Divine Mother and with my Guru, I live for that.  That is my strength, that is my breath, that is my nourishment…

Sometimes I marvel at how good Divine Mother has been to me in this life, and my blessed Guru.  I could have been drawn to any teacher—and there are so many who have come to the west today—but no, there was sufficient good karma that I was drawn to the feet of one who truly knew God, and experienced that contact with God.  A Messenger intoxicated with Divine Love, intoxicated with His Wisdom, intoxicated with Joy, intoxicated with spiritual Strength, intoxicated with perfect Humility—that was our blessed Gurudev.

And we are all his children, striving to walk in his sacred footsteps.  We are blessed.

excerpt from~  “A Tribute of Love to Sri Daya Mata” MP3 download

BACK TO:  MONASTIC STORIES of the Gurus and Monastics

 

2 thoughts on “The Humility of the Guru ~ Daya Mataji

Comments are closed.