“The Most Loving Eyes I Have Ever Seen”; Painter of Christ ~ Yogananda and Jesus

SRM_Winter2013

His face was divine.  His appearance was of a young man in his twenties, with sparse beard and moustache; his long black hair, parted in the middle, had a golden light about it.  His feet were not touching the floor.  His eyes were the most beautiful, the most loving eyes I have ever seen.  The whole universe I saw glistening in those eyes.  They were infinitely changing, and with each transition of expression I intuitively understood the wisdom conveyed.  In his glorious eyes I felt the power that upholds and commands the myriad worlds. ….
 
“Of all the pictures I have seen of him in the West, the rendering by Hofmann comes closest to showing the accurate features of the incarnate Jesus.” …. ***
 
Paramahansa Yogananda, The Second Coming of Christ
***
💗 I had always loved the picture of Christ chosen by Paramahansaji for Self-Realization Fellowship altars.  I knew it was derived from one of Hofmann’s works called “Christ and the Rich Young Ruler.”  … I often asked myself: Who was this artist?  Did he create any other artwork?   But I never dreamed where these idle wonderings would one day lead. ….
from
One thought on ““The Most Loving Eyes I Have Ever Seen”; Painter of Christ ~ Yogananda and Jesus

Comments are closed.