TARA MATA ~ A Loving Tribute ~ Memorial Article

 Self-Realization Magazine, Summer 1971

See Also ~~

TARA MATA ~ Praises from Paramahansaji

 TARA MATA’S Personal Experience in Cosmic Consciousness

 LAHIRI MAHASAYA and Tara Mata’s Grandfather ~ Sri Daya Mata

Tara Mata, Astrology and the Autobiography of a Yogi ~ East-West; A.R.E.

SHANKARA, THE GREAT VEDANTIST,  by Tara Mata

00 YELLOW LOTUS LINE divider

excerpts

TARA MATA: “I see there is no reason for me to travel to India. The India that I was seeking has come to me.” … (on meeting Yogananda, 1924)

SRI DAYA MATA ~ (excerpts) “She was a great yogi,” (Guruji) told me, “who lived many lives hidden away from the world in India. She has come in this life to serve this work, as did many of you who have spent other lives in India. God brought you all here to help me spread the message of Kriya Yoga.”

See also~ SRF/YSS “At the Head…Men and Women of Divine Realization” ~ Paramahansa Yogananda

On another occasion he remarked, “She is a genius…Her deep wisdom and understanding remind me of my great guru, Sri Yukteswar. Excepting him, there is no one with whom I have more enjoyed talking of wisdom and philosophy than my Laurie.”

Laurie was one of the first of those rare disciples of Paramahansaji whom God sent especially to aid his work. She became one of the group of chelas who traveled with him to assist him on his lecture tours throughout this country, and on his visits to Cuba and Alaska.

In my mind she was our guru’s “Cid.” A divine warrior indeed, she could roar like a lion, when it was necessary, to protect Master’s work. To her, his staunch “right hand,” he turned during times of great stress in the conduct of organizational affairs.

…I remember Gurudev’s once saying to me: “Laurie is like a child: without guile; innocent, trusting, loving. But once she begins to see deviousness in anyone toward Self-Realization Fellowship, watch out ! she is like a lion, roaring.”

She lived, she fought, she died for this work …When in New York City working on the publication of Paramahansaji’s Autobiography, she lived for a year in an unheated cold-water flat — nothing on the floor, and very little furniture. …

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is ay-cover-dedication-tara_collage.jpg

The quality of loyalty she had to a degree I have seen in few human beings. [Gurudeva] could count on her as one of those disciples who would stand by his side “amidst the crash of breaking worlds.” And I have lost one of my most prized and most loved friends. She knew how to give friendship. Even when she differed from you, or when you differed from her, she knew how to stand by your side. ”Those who knew her loved her deeply, and found her to be wise, loving, tender, and faithful, both as a disciple of Guru and as a friend. …

And humble as few are humble. Paramahansaji had great respect for her knowledge and for her editorial abilities, and often praised her publicly. “Guruji,” she would plead, “please don’t speak about me in these ways before others. It pains me when you do so.” But our guru went right on, as was his right….

He often said: “What Miss Pratt has done for this book [Autobiography of a Yogi] I cannot begin to describe. Before she was to go to New York [to find a publisher] she fell violently ill. She left for New York just the same. But for her, the book would never have gone through.” ….

Gurudeva often said of her, “It is not necessary for her to meditate in this life. By editing my writings, and because she came here a highly realized soul, she does not require this. I have already set her place for her in heaven.”

Before she left her body, she gazed for a long time at Paramahansaji’s picture; then quietly, peacefully closed her eyes and departed this world.

00 YELLOW LOTUS LINE divider

Tara Mata Memorial p23_Fotor

Tara Mata Memorial p24

Tara Mata Memorial p25

Tara Mata Memorial p49

Tara Mata Memorial p50

Tara Mata Memorial p51

~~~~~~

See also~

Paramahansaji, Seer of Sacred Scripture ~ Writing and Editing Described by Mrinalini Mata

A very great need to keep his works pure – Mukti Mata

BACK TO

YOGANANDA’S DIRECT DISCIPLES