The “Peace and Harmony Prayer,” and the Healing Power of Forgiveness~ Bro. Bhaktananda

1305py_fotor60

Some years ago at a talk given at the Convocation, Brother Bhaktananda (1914–2005), a disciple of Paramahansa Yogananda since 1939 and beloved minister of Hollywood Temple…responded to the following question:

Question:
I have been working on extending love and forgiveness to those who do not love me, and I have run into difficulties in reaching true forgiveness with my family.  I spent half my lifetime getting away from them, and now every family gathering awakens old hurts.  I feel I am not strong enough yet to maintain mutual balance in their presence.  What do you recommend?

Answer:
You will not be able to forgive them as long as you are holding on to the thought of your past hurt.  Instead, as often as such thoughts arise, just let them go by; let them fly away; do not entertain them anymore.  Realize that until you let go of those past grievances, you are hurting yourself, not the others.  The matter is past and gone with them; you are the one holding on to it.

Br. Bhaktananda, peace and harmony

Many have healed difficult relationships by using what I call the “peace and harmony prayer.”  Visualize all those in the group who hurt you, and mentally surround them with divine light.  Then deeply pray, “Lord, fill them with peace and harmony, peace and harmony, peace and harmony,” over and over, for about a minute.  Afterward, visualize yourself in a divine light, and pray, “Lord, fill me with peace and harmony, peace and harmony, peace and harmony,” for about 15 seconds.  Do this five times a day, and you will see a change come over those individuals.

One woman had a supervisor who was always mean to her, critical of her.  So she decided to pray for her, but still there was no change.  She came to me and asked, “What can I do?”  I suggested to her that she should visualize the woman in the divine light and use this peace and harmony prayer.

This is Master’s affirmation/prayer, and people who practice it usually tell me they have wonderful results.  It not only changes the person who is being prayed for, but also the one who uses it.  People often tell me: “I’ve benefited myself; I feel so good and full of love.  I am a different person now.”

About a week later this woman called me on the phone and said: “My supervisor has told me she realizes that she’s been mean to me for a whole year, and that now she’s going to change—she wants us to be friends.”

bhaktananda-memoriam-50
Brother Bhaktananda

PEACE AND HARMONY PRAYER

Visualize all those who hurt you, and mentally surround them with divine light. 

Then deeply pray, “Lord, fill them with peace and harmony, peace and harmony, peace and harmony,” over and over, for about a minute. 

Afterward, visualize yourself in a divine light, and pray, “Lord, fill me with peace and harmony, peace and harmony, peace and harmony,” for about 15 seconds. 

Do this five times a day.

~*~

 

THE ABOVE IS AN EXCERPT FROM THIS SRF ARTICLE  Click to read~~

 Science Looks at the Healing Power of Forgiveness ~ SRF Link

 

See also~ 

Stories on Forgiveness ~ Sister Mridani

Forgiveness: Experiencing the Compassion of God ~ Brother Saralananda

“Turn the Other Cheek; Applying the principle of nonviolence (ahimsa)” ~ Brother Vishwananda

 

BACK TO MONASTIC STORIES of the Gurus and Monastics

One thought on “The “Peace and Harmony Prayer,” and the Healing Power of Forgiveness~ Bro. Bhaktananda

Comments are closed.